Spiritual Root System

There are 5 roots that run down deep into our hearts, the seat of who we are as God created us to be. These are to be nurtured, fed, and released in our lives, otherwise our hearts will die.

HOPE = That for which we look into the future. We don’t yet have it, otherwise it wouldn’t be hope. But we are passionately seeking for this to become reality.

LONGINGS = Our heart’s deep cravings for that which is good – rest, home, safety, peace, justice, healing, etc.

DESIRE = Our hunger for life that fuels the longings of the heart, giving us energy to see our longings fulfilled.

NEEDS = Yes, we have needs such as food, water, shelter and clothing. But, more than that, built within, we have the need to both belong and matter, two deep expressions of genuine love.

FEELINGS = Contrary to what we may have been taught, our feelings are not bad. Rather, they are gifts from God to help us navigate life. Before we could ever talk or move about, we were communicating through our feelings. But we have learned to unlearn the expression of such core feelings as hurt, sadness, loneliness, anger, fear, shame, guilt, and gladness. We need to now relearn these gifts of God & how they bring heart to our life.

Let us learn to live fully with heart.

I am grateful for the work of Dr. Chip Dodd and Sage Hill Counseling.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s